Liberal Arts

by

The other day in class we discussed the idea of a cross-curricular minor at Cornell.  I actually really liked that idea a lot and decided to explore it further in my final paper.  I’m not sure if it’s the absolute best type of education but it is an interesting idea.

My model focuses heavily on faculty advisors working with self-motivated students to create at least cross-curricular minors.  Also emphasized however are BSS style majors as well as classes which discuss the process and debate surrounding education and literacy.  Minors must include a writing course about (or related to) the topic.  A minimum of three different fields (apart from the writing class) must go into the minor and a proposal must be passed by both the student’s advisor and a committee of faculty appointed by the school.

Other than this minor there are no requirements, but rather certain areas–particularly math and language–are emphasized by faculty advisors.   Writing across the curriculum and in almost every class is a way in which writing can still be strongly featured throughout the school as well.

My ideas aren’t completed yet so feel free to ask, probe, or query any of my ideas it will really help me develop my argument and I would really appreciate it.

Leave a comment