Diversity as a means of knowing yourself.

by

America is a diverse country, but not integrated so much at the same time. I think this problem is beyond the cultural difference, more like human tendency. But we need to put effort in this situation, because from my experience studying abroad I learned so many things about American culture, but also about myself and my countrys culture about the things that I took for granted. I had opportunities to look over myself. Because in some points, people dont know about themselves as much as they think they do, if they are surrounded with only people who are similar with them. But you get a chance to think about yourself again, when you find out there is someone who has different opinions with yours by discussing and sharing opinions. So we should try to learn about other groups more actively, rather than being content about the situation you have right now. I believe that if one does not know who they are, they will not know where they are going. It gives us a sense of identity. I am talking about not only groups that is different from you by race, but also religion, sexual identity, and so on. And school can help by offering more social events, programs, meetings and courses that incorporate diversity to encourage students to forget about prejudice and help them to be more open-minded and learn about diversity and experience new things.

Understanding diversity is important, because it helps you to learn more about yourself so that eventually directs you to where you want to go, with knowing that it is the right place you want to be.

One Response to “Diversity as a means of knowing yourself.”

  1. lnguyen12 Says:

    I fully accede with you that getting involved in a diverse country will help us to understand more about ourselves. From my own experience, when I have a chance to study between people from other cultures now, I can discover more about theirs as well as showing my own country’s custom and tradition (vietnam). By doing that, I personally find out more about unknown fact in my own homeland. We both recognize an important role that the diverse study play in general education. That is why we really should involve abroad study programs as well as culture exchange program

Leave a comment